St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham

St Johns Caterham

St John's C of E Primary School, Caterham images

Who We Are and What We Do

You won't always find us in the playground but we live locally and are approachable.


Angela Stone (Clerk to the Governors)

Angela is professional clerk working with schools in Surrey and Kent. Her role is independent to ensure the Governing Body is well organised; to offer information and advice and to manage all the required paperwork.


Chris Botten (Co-Opted Governor) 

Chris’ two stepsons were at St Johns. He was the Head of a large comprehensive school and is semi-retired. He is the Chair of Governors of three primary schools, an Associate of Babcock4S and chairs appeal panels for the NHS.


Oliver Hanmer (Church Governor) – Chair of the Governors


Oliver moved to Caterham in 2014. He has a young son and belongs to St John’s church. He is a Director at the Bar Standards Board for Barristers. He brings a wealth of strategic insight and supports driving our action plans.


Robert Veale (Head Teacher - automatically becomes a Governor and sits on all the main committees)

Rob is an experienced Head (appointed April ‘15), passionate about innovative and creative learning. He is driven to ensure all pupils are challenged, make excellent progress and grow as individuals and as part of a community.


Andy Holland (Parent Governor) – Premises


Revd Capt. Jerry Garton CA (Church Governor) – Faith Group Chair and lead on Church Distinctiveness

In 2000 Father Jerry moved to Caterham to become Vicar of St John’s Church. He became a Governor at the same time as the Vicar of St. John’s is automatically on the Governing Body. He ensures we include our faith.


Kate Gordon (Church Governor) - Vice-Chair, Teaching and Learning and Pupil Outcomes Lead

Teaching at an outstanding secondary school in Bromley is Kate’s career. Kate is a member or St Mary’s/St John’s churches. Her young son attends the school. Her experience is invaluable to managing standards at St John’s.


Janet Hills (Church Governor) – SEND, LAC and Equality Objectives Lead

Janet’s children attend St John’s and she has an honours degree in Animal Science and works for DEFRA. She has served as a Governor for three years and supports the standards and pupil welfare requirements.


Lucy Hubery (Parent Governor) – Safeguaring Governor and Early Years Lead

Lucy has lived all her life in Caterham, has a daughter at the school and worships at St. John’s Church. She is taking a career break (secondary school teacher) to care for her three children. Her background is very useful to us.


Emer Daniels (Staff Governor) – Premises Lead

Emer has taught at St Johns for seven years, currently in year five and is the joint maths co-ordinator. She sits on the Executive Governor Group and was voted onto the board in late 2015.


Mandy Settle (Parent Governor) – Finance Lead

Mandy has two children who attend St John's, having also attended the school herself. She is a Chartered Accountant who works with a wide variety of clients and industries, both in audit and corporate tax.


Imogen Wilde (Church Governor) – Leadership and Management Lead

Imogen works as an Executive Search Consultant in the higher education sector. She is in her seventh year as a Governor. 

Matthew Godfrey (Local Authority Governor) 

Matthew has been Deputy Head at Caterham School since September 2013.  He brings a wealth of educational expertise to the governing body, having taught English in secondary schools in both the state and independent sectors over the past 18 years.  He is married with three children and lives in Warlingham.